MY MARCHING MANIFESTO

For me, marching is all about the women.

The #groped, the #grabbed, the #assaulted, the #ugly, the less-than-10s, the #flatchested, #black, #white, #brown, #mothers. 

It is about the #poor, #divorced, #disenfranchised, #gay, #trans, #lesbian who suffer with less than her #normalized sister, less than her male counterpart, and who is systemically silenced. 

It is all about #solidarity, even if you are a #righttolifer, which I am most vehemently not-but I will still stand with you because you are a woman. I will stand with you because women have had the short end of the stick. I know, because despite my class and color privilege, I have experienced it in my own #home, in my own #family, from #relatives, from #bosses, from the #world.

#Inequality, #disrespect, #objectification, and #abuse all exist- especially for those born female. For me, Trump represents the forces that have continued to hold women back, kept them in their place, kept the beautiful and groomed, with #plasticsurgery perfection, rather than acknowledging the true, the strong, the bloody, the fierce human that wants and needs to be true to herself, not to a man’s vision of what she should be; not to the polite, never-#nasty voice; not to the ways he thinks she should behave. 

Life is too short to be beautiful. Be real. Be courageous. Speak up. Speak out. Damn the #patriarchy. It’s the same old story back to haunt us in a new shape. I’m sad about #Hillary. I’m glad she wore white to the #inauguration. The #suffragettes wore white. I was born only 37 years after women got the right to vote. The Doesn’t anyone else think it’s really WEIRD that we’ve NEVER had a WOMAN president? It’s weird! 

I’m in #Washington for the #WomensMarch. I hate crowds and I hate the cold, but for me- it’s all about the women. To my #HousewivesOnProzac band, for all the #Pride parades we performed, for the #nursing mother’s, and the #students, #artists, and for a ratified #ERAammendment, for #Mamaplooza, and for the #MuseumOfMotherhood, I march. It’s my duty to my country. 

I am woman hear me roar.

#TogetherWeMarch

Comments are closed.