Thee Poems At Tampa Airport

By,  Joy Rose, Jan., 2013

Never Say ‘Never’

Things I said I’d never do:
Wear sneakers
Cut my hair
Get divorced
Have children
Move to Florida

__

France

I remember you
French lady with the half-smile
Mona Lisa-like on the bus to Versailles
It’s been 35 years
Now I’m the age you must have been when I first saw you
I walk through the airport
Head held high
Making sure the pleasant expression on my lips
Reflects the secret we share
After all this time
_

Wolfgang Puck

The Wolfgang Puck Roasted Vegetable Sandwich label said:
Wolfgang Puck, Roasted Vegetable Sandwich –

Fresh mozzarella, provolone, basil, pesto, arugula, eggplant, tomatoes, zucchini tapenade on a rustic roll

I opened you up and on the back side your label said: Rustic roll (unbleached flour (wheat flour, malted barely flour), water, canola oil, sour culture, less than 2% salt, wheat flour, sugar, yeast, dry malt blend, (malted barley, wheat flour, dextrose), white degerminated corn meal, enzymes, soybean oil, niacin, reduced iron, thiamine mononitrate, riboflavin, folic acid, zucchini tapenade (grilled zucchini (with sunflower oil, salt, citric acid, red onion, pitted kalamata olives (with water, salt, red wine vinegar, extra virgin olive oil,  sunflower oil), fresh basil, capers (with water, salt, red wine vinegar, salt), provolone cheese (cultured pasteurized whole milk enzymes, salt), fresh mozzarella ciliegine (pasteurized whole mil, vinegar, vegetable rennet, salt), pesto (basil, soybean oil, water, romano cheese (part-skim milk, cheese cultures, salt rennet, cellulose), parmesan cheese (cultured part-skim milk, salt, enzymes), garlic, salt, spinach powder, granulated garlic, soy lecithin, modified corn starch, citric acid), grilled eggplant (with sunflower oil, vinegar, salt, spices, citric acid) roasted tomatoes (tomatoes, sunflower oil, vinegar, salt, spices, citric acid) roasted tomatoes (tomatoes, sunflower oil, garlic, salt, oregano, arugula, basil, food coloring.

Then it said, ‘Expires’ and it was blank.
~ It made me think about my ingredients,
You inside my body and my expiration date?

Leave a Reply

